For up-to-date information about COVID-19, visit 

Boards, Commissions and Committees

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The following is a list of City Commissions, Boards, and Committees.

Advisory Committee on Appointments 

This five-member citizen committee recommends to the City Manager and Council President citizen nominees to municipal standing committees, commissions, and boards. For further information, contact the City Manager's Office or click here

Alcohol License Advisory Committee

The Alcohol License Advisory Committee is composed of four citizens and one City Councilmember. The purpose of the committee is to advise the Council on applications for liquor and related licenses by reviewing all alcohol license applications, renewals, and amendments; and by providing a research source for drafting alcohol related ordinances and policies. For further information, contact the Police Department or click here

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee is a four-member committee who assist the City Council as a whole in discharging its responsibilities for the overall stewardship of the City’s financial affairs. For further information, contact the Finance Division or click here

Citizens Board of Review 

The Citizens Board of Review is a board of five city residents who annually hold a formal public hearing to review property owners' objections regarding property assessments. The board listens to testimony from the Assessor's Office and the property owner to determine if adjustments to property assessments are appropriate. For further information, contact the City Clerk's Office or click here.

Community Development Authority (CDA)

The CDA has the responsibility of providing oversight into the Rental Assistance Program; and planning and implementing community development programs including housing improvement projects, homeownership programs, and neighborhood and downtown improvement projects. The CDA reports to the City Council and City Manager and consists of five citizen members and two Councilmembers. For further information, contact Neighborhood & Community Services or click here.

Downtown Business Improvement District Board 

The Downtown Business Improvement District (BID) was established in 2017 with a purpose of providing resources for revitalizing the downtown area. The BID Board consists of nine individuals, including two members who are property owners within the BID; two business owners within the BID; and one citizen at large. After these positions are filled, best efforts are made to include members from all BID zones. For further information, please contact the Economic Development Office or click here.

Historic Commission 

The seven-member citizen commission was created in 1981 by the City Council as part of the revision of the zoning ordinance. Members are residents of Janesville who represent a cross-section of the City's population and demonstrate an interest in historic preservation. The commission reviews National Register nominations and promotes historic preservation awareness. For more information, contact the Planning Division or click here

Library Board of Trustees

This ten-person board, which includes nine citizens and the Human Resources Director as a nonvoting member, sets policy for operation of the Hedberg Public Library and prepares the Library's budget for City Council approval. For more information, contact the Hedberg Public Library at (608) 758-6588 or click here.

Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)

The MPO Policy Board is comprised of the seven members of the City of Janesville Common Council; the City of Janesville City Manager; a representative from the City of Milton; a representative from the Wisconsin Department of Transportation District One Office; the Chairpersons of the Towns of Harmony, Janesville, LaPrairie, Rock, and Milton; plus a representative of the County of Rock. The MPO focuses its efforts on short and long-range transportation planning and transit issues. The Planning Services Division is the staff for the MPO. For more information, contact the Planning Division or click here.

Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee

The Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee is an eleven-member committee consisting of nine citizen members, a citizen representing the ice skating community, and one Councilmember. The committee is responsible for reviewing and making recommendations to the Parks & Recreation Divisions and the City Administration on matters concerning planning, development, operation, maintenance, and promotion of the programs, facilities, and parks based upon the community's needs and interest. The Parks & Recreation Divisions staff the committee. For further information, contact the Parks & Recreation Divisions or click here.

Janesville Plan Commission

The seven-member Plan Commission consists of five citizens and two City Councilmembers. The Plan Commission is established by State Statutes and reviews items referred from the City Council relating to planning, zoning, and physical development. The commission also prepares and adopts the City's Comprehensive Plan or Master Plan. Except holidays, the Janesville Plan Commission meets the first and third Monday of each month at 6 p.m. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers (Room #417) on the fourth floor of City Hall (18 North Jackson Street). The public is welcome to attend. For further information, contact the Planning Division or click here.

Police and Fire Commission

The Police and Fire Commission consists of five citizens who are responsible for hiring Police and Fire Chiefs and approval of their subordinate appointments. The commission also reviews charges against and may discipline or dismiss the Police or Fire Chief or any subordinate. For further information, contact Human Resources or click here.

Sustainable Janesville Committee

The Sustainable Janesville Committee consists of seven citizens and one Councilmember. The committee's purpose is to advise the City Administration and the City Council on issues of environmental sustainability. Members shall collect public input on sustainability issues, examine potential sustainability initiatives, and provide recommendations related to environmental sustainability to the City Administration and the City Council. The committee is a centralized point of contact for all sustainability related items within the organization and the community. For more information, click here.

Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA)

The ZBA is a five-member Board with two alternate members that reviews requests to vary or modify standards in the zoning ordinance. The Planning and Building Divisions serve as staff to the ZBA. For further information, contact the Building Division or click here.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer