For up-to-date information about COVID-19, visit or call the Community Support Hotline: (608) 373-6027.

Contact the City Council

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Councilmembers are elected at large, thus representing residents in the whole city. To send an e-mail to the entire Council at one time, please use the email address To send an email to an individual Councilmember, please view the table below to find to the correct e-mail address. 

If you would like to send a letter to one or all of the Councilmembers, you may send it to the following address: City Council; City Hall; Post Office Box 5005; Janesville, WI, 53547-5005.

Please Note: All e-mails or written communication received by the City of Janesville or City Councilmembers are public documents and public records, and are subject to disclosure to the public. The City Council uses City of Janesville e-mail addresses which are linked to the City network, allowing all councilmember e-mail correspondence to be archived and stored automatically as a public record. The e-mails will only be accessed upon request in compliance with state and federal Open Records laws.

 Name City-issued Phone (608)  Cell Phone (608)  Email Address  Term(s)
Rich Gruber, Council President   373-6014  921-1483 2015* - 2020 
Tom Wolfe, Council Vice President 373-6015 2017 - 2021
Paul Benson  373-6012  352-8010  2019*
Sue Conley 373-6013 2017 - 2021 
Jim Farrell 373-6017 289-9407 2012 - 2015; 2017 - 2021 
Douglas Marklein 373-6016  436-1428 2013 - 2021 
Paul Williams 373-6011 751-6979

2000 - 2007; 2016 - 2020 


Informal Listening Sessions

The City Council conducts informal listening sessions on the second Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the fourth floor break room of City Hall (Room #415, 18 North Jackson Street). During these sessions, citizens have the opportunity to meet with Councilmembers individually or in small groups in an informal and casual environment. Citizens may choose to stay for the entire session, or they may come and go as their schedule allows. These sessions take place before a regular council meeting, and citizens are welcome to stay to attend that evening's meeting. Questions or comments regarding informal listening sessions may be directed to the City Manager's Office at 755-3177.